Building the bridge as you walk over it: Reflections on a fabulous #SLTCamp

24 Nov

Being at SLT Camp was one of those moments where you feel part of something really important. There was a feeling amongst all of the campers that this wouldn’t be the only SLT Camp; there’s just too much potential for this model to be replicated up and down the country. Chatting to Sarah (@MsFindlater) and Graham Newell (@Graham_IRISC) on the Saturday night, we were adamant that this type of grass-roots movement would make a difference to teaching and leadership over the next few years.

What follows are our reflections on the key themes from the weekend and our ponderings on how we can ignite change in our schools after discussions with a range of brilliant professionals.

camppic5

Debbie

In the lead-up to SLT Camp, I experienced my first SLT melt-down. When I started my job in January, I was extremely fortunate that my head gave me a reduced timetable to give me time and space to get to know how the school works and to have the time to go and watch every teacher. This extra time was invaluable for me because it meant I hit the ground running, was highly visible to staff and students and learnt quickly the lay of the land.

Then September came along and so began the real start to my job – balancing the demands of being on SLT and teaching English to years 7, 8, 9, 10 and 11. For the first half term, I was managing ok but over the half term break, I spent most of it marking to help me get back on track with all of my classes. I didn’t really have a proper break. It was like being an NQT all over again (but with more wrinkles!). When I started the second half of the autumn term, I began making silly mistakes – forgetting to do data entry, deleting emails by mistake, not double checking my controlled assessment folders that were called for the GCSE sample – and for the first time I had a panic about whether I was up for this job. There were tears. Luckily my deputy head was on hand to offer me a tissue and to talk with me about work/life balance.

“You don’t have to be Superwoman, Debbie! You can’t keep up this pace and plan fantastic lessons as well. You must slow down.”

Sometimes it’s so hard to keep all of the plates spinning. I am not comfortable with planning mediocre lessons and then going into other teachers’ classes and making suggestions about how to tweak their practice. I think I’d die of the shame, as my Nan used to say! Ironically, one of the things she mentioned was to stop attending so many after school teach meets; I didn’t tell her that, in fact, I’d booked myself into a whole weekend of CPD! She did laugh when I told her on Monday where I’d been…

When I arrived at SLT Camp on the Friday night late after getting lost down pitch-black country lanes with no Sat Nav, I was feeling a bit low. Thankfully, ten minutes later, I found myself sitting with a bunch of great people, glass of wine in hand and chowing down on lasagne. Things were looking up! That night we had the teach meet element of the weekend and it set the tone for the rest of the weekend; every one that presented had something in common – they were all deeply reflective about what it meant to be an effective leader. I presented on developing a strong learning culture and afterwards received so many encouraging comments that it reminded me that we teachers are so quick to do ourselves down when things go wrong. Sometimes we need to stop and think about the good things we’re doing as well as what we still need to do to get better.

Jill Berry (@jillberry102) said something during her presentation that really stuck with me for the whole weekend: you build the bridge as you walk over it. This is one of the lessons I need to learn if I’m to survive as a senior leader. I want to make the bridge as strong as possible to ensure everyone gets over safely – me included! Yet real life isn’t like that. Sometimes you have to adapt and accept that you can’t always control what’s put in front of your path.

bridge

Saturday morning began ridiculously early since Stephen (@mrlockyer) insisted we get up at the crack of dawn to set up our top secret mission: SLT Boot Camp! What fun Mel and I had in Tiger and Poundland buying the most ludicrous items possible and thinking of how we could incorporate them into our boot camp. When the rest of the campers arrived and saw a plastic cactus, cocktail sticks, wooden toys, blindfolds and a special Davina McCall workout hula hoop, there were a few bemused faces but people got into the spirit of it pretty quickly when they realised there were prizes on offer – us teachers are a competitive bunch! I’ll leave it up to Mel to tell more about the boot camp because she spent so long making sure everything went well.

camppic1

In the afternoon, we split up into areas that we were interested in and this was such a great part of the weekend. When do we ever get a chance to sit down and engage in proper conversation with other leaders about successful and less successful experiences of implementing change? I learnt so much from listening to primary and secondary colleagues sharing what was going on in their school. The two things I’m determined to do in my school are to develop the action research CPD model we’ve started this year and to think about what impact our new marking and feedback policy is having on students and staff. We’re on the right track but I still think we’ve got more to do, particularly how senior and middle leaders work together to lead on change. I don’t want to say too much about Saturday night (Chatham House rules) but it was hilarious. After seeing some of our favourite tweachers in Mexican hats, learning how to salsa dance, I don’t think we’ll ever be able to tweet them in quite the same way again!

Before we knew it, Sunday morning had arrived and it was time for reflection. I looked at Stephen and Sarah sharing their final thoughts and was bowled over by what fantastic people they are; they have spent months preparing for this event for no reward except a desire to see teachers take the lead in making and sustaining change in education. I can’t think of any other profession that works so hard outside of contracted hours without the prospect of paid overtime or a nice little bonus. I looked around the room and felt so proud to be part of this brilliant profession. Andy Day (@Andyphilipday) left me with a lump in my throat when he spoke about coming to the end of his career and the need for ‘hope’ if we are to keep making a difference to young people’s lives. He said how every one of us in the room represented ‘hope’ because we are the next set of leaders to support students and staff in fulfilling their potential.

So what have I learnt about igniting change, the theme of the first SLT Camp? You can’t make it happen by yourself and we are strongest when we are united. It was a privilege to be surrounded by leaders who were trying their utmost to help their schools become the best place for individuals to learn and flourish.

Thanks again to Stephen and Sarah for organising – here’s to the next one!

camppic7

Mel

Once upon a time in a pub in Scotland, three blokes met up and shared some ideas about teaching and learning. Little did these blokes know that they had started something amazing: the first ever Teachmeet or that people all over the country (and beyond)  would replicate this idea and leave the meeting feeling inspired, uplifted, refreshed, passionate and relieved that they are not alone in their desire to be even better.

I love this story. I love it because it’s about real, hardworking, everyday people deciding to make a difference. It’s about people who aren’t trying to make money, make themselves look good or push a political agenda. It’s about sharing and collaborating for the good of all the learners we have the privilege to work with.

Once upon a time, in a youth hostel in Surrey, forty (ish) keen teachers met up and shared some ideas about leading change. Little did these forty (ish) people know that they had started something amazing: the first ever SLT camp……

sltcamplogo

OK, so maybe I’m looking into the future and maybe it won’t take off, but really – who wouldn’t want to spend a weekend with people who can question, challenge, support, console, reignite, uplift, inspire AND salsa dance with them?!!

When the tickets were released for SLT camp, I was on a Greek island, desperately trying to connect to the hotel’s wifi to be sure to get my place booked. My reasons for going were different from many others – I’m not on SLT (yet?) but I am responsible for leading teaching and learning (will some people auto correct me to ‘learning and teaching’? Does it actually matter?) across my school  and I am keen to be involved in igniting other changes.  I wanted to get a better idea of the challenges that leaders face, the mistakes they are brave enough to discuss with others and the successes and great ideas they are kind enough to share.

Arriving on the Friday night, on my own, quite flustered from a much longer than expected journey (with stop-offs for some extra random items for Saturday’s team-building activities) and without my lovely partner-in-tweets, Debbie, I suddenly felt a bit shy! Fortunately, everyone I walked past was so friendly and welcoming; soon I had a name sticker, a seat and, most importantly of all, a big glass of red. So feeling better, I sat down (right at the front of the room) and Stuart Lock began talking about his suggested charity for our donations.

Now, I will regret admitting this publicly but I am a crier. I cry at ‘DIY SOS’, at Comic Relief and at leaving speeches for people I don’t even really know.  Seriously when Stuart bravely told his story I couldn’t believe I had to sit there right in front of him trying to hold it together. Needless to say, I didn’t but I did manage to keep it to just slightly teary eyes rather than full on sobbing, so I’m pretty proud of myself.

The Teachmeet was just fabulous – lots of food for thought, inspiring words and questions to ask myself. I too found Jill’s presentation really helpful and noted done her Quinn bridge quote, as well as making notes to self to ask the lovely Andy (@Andyphilipday) about his use of checklists and to add another book to my reading list (The first 90 days by Michael Watkins). Thanks to all who presented and thanks to Sarah and Stephen for starting the weekend off so well, with lots of time to ask the presenters for more information.

From food for thought to food for comfort: crikey, we were well looked after on that front! A delicious dinner and more wine meant we had to really drag our(much heavier)selves up to join Stephen the next morning to prepare for the team building activities.

camppic3

OK, so I like a good picture quiz and love watching people doing slightly bizarre activities with duck gloves and cocktail sticks but I accept that, for some bizarre reason, that’s not everyone’s idea of fun.  However, all the preparation was worth it when I got to stand in the middle of a freezing cold village hall on a Saturday morning, listening to people who didn’t know each other cheer themselves on as they flicked a hula hoop over their shoulder or admitted to being able to name all the members of One Direction.  That is what it feels like to really be part of a team.  Isn’t it?

camppic2camppic4camppic6

When we asked Stephen and Sarah how the rest of the Saturday would work, it all sounded a bit unstructured. Who would lead the discussions? Nobody. What would we be discussing? Anything. BUT – unstructured was the perfect model for an “unconference”. Sarah did an amazing job of collecting questions and discussion points for each of the sessions and it worked perfectly. We had enough of a structure to know where to start, or where to go if we didn’t know where to go, without feeling constrained in any way. I love that Stephen kept encouraging us to get up and move to a different table if we weren’t getting what we wanted from where we were, although once you were on a table and started listening to everyone’s ideas, you didn’t really want to leave and miss anything! I learnt a huge amount and have to name check @StuartLock again, as I had some great discussions with him and love his depth of opinion. In all honesty, I thought I’d find him a bit scary, instead, I was just impressed with the questions he asked – the sort that really make you think about what you really think.

What did I gain from the weekend? More items on my to-read list; some inspirational quotes; an awareness of the condition CDH (I am starting to sound like your stalker, but thanks again @StuartLock) some great merchandise (wearing my SLT camp hat as I type!), pictures in my head to go with Twitter handles (what happens at SLT camp stays on SLT camp), a few pounds thanks to the delicious comfort food, some great memories (what happens at SLT camp stays on SLT camp!), a list of questions and actions for me personally and to take back into my school and the privilege to be able to say ‘The first ever SLT camp, oh yes, I was there!’

 slt camp letters

3 Responses to “Building the bridge as you walk over it: Reflections on a fabulous #SLTCamp”

  1. msjamdangory November 24, 2013 at 2:39 pm #

    Brilliant reflections lovely ladies, and what an addition you both made to the whole weekend. Thanks for being part of what has inspired me and reinvigorated me in the best job in the world.

    • teachertweaks November 24, 2013 at 9:18 pm #

      Thanks Amy – we had a great time meeting new people. First time we’ve been able to have such extended discussion with primary colleagues about leadership.

Leave a Reply

Stack of Marking

Where the world comes to learn about me and my fabulous teaching.

marymyattsblog

things I notice in schools

Learning Geek Journey

Joining the quest for finding, sharing and leading learning ideas!

Leading Learner

Headteacher at St. Mary's Catholic College, Blackpool. Fascinated by learning & leading. Love collaborating and seeing new practice. Involved in SSAT Redesigning Schools & Vision 2040 Group.

markquinn1968

What inspires - and exasperates - me about education

@TeacherToolkit

Most Influential Blog on Education in the UK

Pragmatic Education

*Ideas are the currency of the 21st century*

Monkey Learns...

Small changes can make a big difference!

tait coles @Totallywired77 - PuNk Learning

“Authority is supposedly grounded in wisdom, but I could see from a very early age that authority was only a system of control and it didn't have any inherent wisdom. I quickly realised that you either became a power or you were crushed” Joe Strummer

Thinking on Learning

Small changes can make a big difference!

Class Teaching

Finding & sharing teaching 'bright spots'

Full On Learning

Because learning is too important to be left to chance

The Confident Teacher

Developing successful habits of mind, body and pedagogy.

The WordPress.com Blog

Small changes can make a big difference!

